Google My Business Messaging Feature Rolls Out in the US

Google My Business Google has started to roll out a new messaging feature for customers that use Google My Business. Many people have noticed the addition of the new feature that has been in the works since the end of 2016. Google confirmed that the message feature is now being rolled out to customers in the US, we are unclear as to when the feature is due to arrive here in the UK.

The messaging feature is accessible via the Google My Business home page. The messaging section is located on the left-hand side where you have the option to ‘Message with Customers’.  Once you click Message with Customers you’re taken to a configuration page for the device that you wish to connect to. Once the number has been verified you’re able to create an auto reply to be sent to any customers that use the feature.

An Easy Way to Get in Contact with Your Business

When the message feature is up and running your customers will see a message icon appear in your local listing. All they need to do is select the message icon to open a window and begin messaging your business.  The messaging will open up in their native messaging app if they access the listing via iOS. When they select the icon and write a message, it will be sent to your configured device.

This is a fast and easy way for your customers to get in touch. It’s especially welcome with customers in an age where many users prefer text to talking on the phone.  You still have the call button available in your Google My Business listing, allowing your customers to make their preferred choice of contact.  The additional buttons include directions and a link that takes them directly to your website.

Claim your Google listings and make the most of all the features that are provided to you. Contact us if you’d like to learn more about securing your business in the search engines.

Close Menu